General Elections

The City of Timpson holds annual elections on the May uniform election date (first Saturday in May).

Election Information:  The City Council is made up of six members (Mayor and five councilmembers).  All councilmembers are elected "at large."  All office holders for city elective office shall meet the requirements for public office prescribed by state and federal law​​.  They must be registered voters, residing within the city limits for at least one year prior to the election and be at least 21 years of age by the date of the election.
Important Dates​
First day to file place on ballot by mail:  January 1, 2021       Last day to file place on ballot by mail (received):  April 20, 2021
​First day to file place on ballot:  January 13, 2021​                   Last day to file place on ballot:  February 12, 2021
Last day to register to vote:  April 1, 2021
Early Voting (In-Person): April 19 - 27, 2021​​
​Election Day:  May 1, 2021
An application for a place on the general election ballot must be filed not later than 5 p.m. of the 78th day before election day. [Sec. 143.007]​​



Website by Dogwood Designs
2020 City of Timpson General Election
Notice is Hereby Given by the City of Timpson, that at the close of business on the seventy-fourth day before election day, there were not more candidates for the City positions for City of Timpson, Texas including candidates filing affidavits of intent to be write-in candidates, therefore the election to be held on May 2, 2020 is hereby canceled as permitted in section 2.051 of the Texas Election Code.
The following candidates are hereby declared elected:
Debra P. Smith​​​​​, Mayor (2-year term)        Teri L. Alexander, City Council (2-year term)        Kenneth E. Walker, City Council (2-year term)
Election Identifications Certificate (EIC) Now Required for Texas Voters
The Texas Election Code 631(b) requires a photo ID in order to vote in Texas. The Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 521A and 37 Texas Administration Code, Sections 15.181-185, authorizes DPS to issue Election Identification Certificates. Please click on the links below for additional information and the application form.

Election Identifications Certificate (EIC) Now Required for Texas Voters

Application for Texas Election Certificate (DL-14C)

For 2020-2022 Election dates & information go to or contact theCity Secretary.
2021 City of Timpson General Election
There are three ​​Council seats with expiring terms: 
​   ​ 
​Kyle Allen, Mayor Pro Tem                        Charleston Johnson, City Council                          Tiffany Collins, City Council